FAQ

COMPANY

Harkins is a company specialized in the construction of high-end wood houses. Here’s an overview of our services: 

Yes. You can meet our team in person or virtually to discuss your needs, budget, and find out more about our projects. Since we manage numerous requests, it’s necessary to make an appointment with us for a consultation. Here are a few ways to contact us

  • Online: fill out the information request form and the short questionnaire about your log home project.
  • Phone: call us at 819-688-3571. Please take note of the questionnaire before calling.
  • Email: write to us at info@harkins.ca. Please include information about your project, such as the plan, budget, deadline, location, etc.

By making an appointment with a member of our team, you’ll be able to look at the current structures in construction on our site. We don’t have a model home for viewing, but we do have a round wood building and a traditional timber-frame building on site to give you an idea of the products.  

You can also take a look at our online portfolio:

  • Log home
  • Traditional timber frame house
  • Hybrid timber frame house 
  • Architectural services  

The answer to this question varies depending on the type of house you choose: 

  • Log home: We build the round wood structure on our site, located at 1460 Route 117 in Mont-Blanc in the Laurentians. Once the structure is complete, the pieces are numbered and dismantled, and then transported and reassembled on the foundation of the site chosen by our clients.  
  • Timber frame house (traditional carpentry): We prepare the solid wood frame in our workshop. If delivery is included in the contract, we deliver the frame and beams to the construction site of your secondary home or cottage. It’s the same process for hybrid timber frame structures. 
  • Our architectural services for log homes and traditional carpentry are offered by our team in our offices. This allows us to invest the time and energy needed for research and development in order to improve our techniques. 

If you’re a carpenter with experience in building log houses or traditional carpentry structures, send us an email with your CV and a cover letter at admin@harkins.ca. We are always on the lookout for qualified carpenters (CCQ), round wood carpenters, and traditional carpenters, as well as tradespersons with no trade cards to perform related tasks, such as planing, sanding, staining, site management, and more.

PLANNING — ROUND WOOD

We don’t have a catalogue of plans for log houses online. However, if you contact us, we can send you our book of plans for inspiration. Since we specialize in the construction of high-end wood houses, our clients want to build a unique house to fit their vision, their location, their needs, and their lifestyle.  

Each plan is specifically adapted to the location and the needs of our clients. As such, it isn’t possible to buy a pre-made plan and then find a contractor specialized in round wood construction. However, by working with our team, we can take an existing plan and adapt it to your needs.

Keep in mind that plan designing is an important first step of your project. We suggest that you invest the time and budget needed for this crucial step to guarantee the success of your round wood construction project.

It really depends on what you want! We suggest that you budget approximately 1-2% of the overall budget or between $2 and $5 per square foot. The budget will be adjusted depending on the complexity of the project.

This is difficult to answer since each project is unique. The budget will vary depending on your needs. For the round wood structure, you should budget between $100 and $500 per square foot. If you want a turnkey project (self-build or with a general contractor), you should budget between $300 and $500 per square foot.

Here are a few factors that will affect the overall cost: 

  • Total area of the house
  • Details of the structure
  • Method of project management (self-build, contractor, partnership)
  • Delivery site
  • Client’s choice of materials
  • Types of interior and exterior finishes
  • Price of wood
  • And more

The houses our team of specialized craftspeople usually build have a minimum size of plus or minus 25 feet by 25 feet. 

Harkins is known for delivering high-end, secondary, wood homes, whose quality exceeds industry standards. 

We don’t do mini log house projects since we prefer to concentrate our efforts and resources on what sets us apart. 

Harkins will always take charge of installing the round wood structure for a log home or log cottage to guarantee the quality of the product from start to finish. If you wish to do the foundation, roof, and finishing touches yourself, it’s possible to buy just the round wood structure that we can install on your foundation. This way, you can proceed with the project yourself or hire a general contractor of your choice.

You can check out this blog that explains in detail the construction steps. Here are the key points: 

  • Obtaining all the necessary permits from the municipality
  • Preparing the foundation and floor
  • Submitting the electrical plan 2 weeks before delivery to determine the placement of the electrical boxes
  • Preparing the site and road to accommodate a 25-tonne mobile crane (minimum) and a 46-foot trailer truck

PLANNING – SOLID WOOD CARPENTRY

We don’t have a catalogue of plans for log houses online. However, if you contact us, we can send you our book of plans for inspiration. Since we specialize in the construction of high-end wood houses, our clients want to build a unique house to fit their vision, their location, their needs, and their lifestyle. 

No. Each plan is unique and personalized to the specific project. There are numerous considerations and often the plan is tailored depending on various details, such as sun orientation, preferences, location, view, and more.

The price can vary enormously. You should budget a minimum of $350 per square foot. That said, there are numerous factors that can increase the cost. This estimate applies for 2022, but it may vary from year to year.

A completely traditional timber-frame construction includes the post and beam structure for all exterior walls, as well as a complete solid wood roof structure. This type of construction requires a lot of structural support. 

A hybrid timber-frame construction allows for solid wood components to be incorporated in specific areas of the house. In this case, solid wood can have a structural or decorative role. Usually, we incorporate solid wood in common living spaces like the living room or dining room. For example, putting a cathedral ceiling in a living room with timber frame trusses adds character to the room.  

The term “hybrid” is used because the structural elements are made of solid wood and a conventional structure, such as 2”x6” studs.

In general, there are five steps to follow when building a timber-frame house:

  1. Preliminary plan to discuss ideas
  2. Cost estimate to give you an idea of what your project could cost
  3. Detailed plan to launch the project
  4. Finale quote and contract to sign
  5. Payments made in a few instalments

No. We’re specialized in timber frames. We’ll build the structure and then close up the outer envelope and finish it. For the remaining aspects, we can recommend professionals for a self-build project or general contractors for a turnkey project.

Yes. Over the years we’ve built numerous timber frames. You can check a few of them out for inspiration in our online portfolio.

Yes. We can make custom gazebos. Contact us and we can draw up a plan for your dream gazebo.

We primarily use white pine that grows here in the Laurentians where we’re located. Some other types of wood we use include: Douglas Fir, Red Cedar, and Alaskan Cypress.  

Yes. We can make these types of structures. However, each project is analyzed independently, and our team will let you know if we’re able to undertake such a project as many factors may come into play.

Of course! However, keep in mind that adding solid wood elements is an art. A careful review of the project will be necessary before moving forward. Our experts will be able to guide you in order to give your home some character. 

We usually do the first coat of stain in our workshop. We recommend applying a second coat on site to ensure the best quality. However, the client (or their painter) is responsible for applying the second coat once the structure is erected on the foundation.  

As a general rule, most clients opt for a flat sanded finish or “brute resaw” as it works for any type of structure. We can also do a gouge finish or a brushed finish.

ROUND WOOD TECHNIQUES

We mainly use white pine for our log homes. It’s very important to us that we use white pine from sustainably developed and harvested forests and that the timber is within a 200 km radius of our site.

The Scandinavian technique is differentiated by the meticulous work of the wood craftspeople. The bark is removed from the wood and then sanded, both steps by hand. Then the wood is adjusted with a double level compass. With great care and precision, the logs are traced and cut. This allows the pieces to fit perfectly into each other. This results in a very tight joint and optimal insulation. Our team’s expertise and the techniques used make all the difference.

Without a doubt, our team excels at building log homes. That said, we have other talents as we’re also specialized in the design and construction of timber frame houses

A traditional Scandinavian is built with logs crossing at the corner junctions. 

A Scandinavian with posts is built in log sections with posts in the corners and at each door and window. This technique prevents the possibility of the structure settling.

Our houses meet the energy standards of the building code. Calculations are based on the total envelope of the house.  

 

We use logs with an average diameter of 15 inches, and we install a double P-Gasket between the logs when reassembling the structure. Additionally, we put in energy-efficient windows. The roof is insulated at R-50, and the thermal bridges are covered.

An external firm conducted airtightness tests and confirmed that our log constructions perform according to Novoclimat standards in terms of air tightness.

ROUND WOOD MAINTENANCE

The staining of your house should be done in accordance to the manufacturer’s recommendations. Usually, staining is done every five years, but it’s important to follow the recommendations based on the product used.

Opt for a stain with an antifungal protection, and make sure to read the instructions carefully before applying the product in question.

No minimum annual maintenance is required. However, we do recommend removing any pollen or dust with some unpressurized water.

Yes. It’s a normal reaction with wood. That said, there’s no cause for concern, as this cracking doesn’t affect the integrity of the wood, nor its insulation and energy efficiency.

What we commonly refer to as “settling” refers to a natural characteristic of round wood that you should expect in a Scandinavian log home. As wood dries, its diameter shrinks. This means that the total height of a round wood wall, at 9’6”, will decrease by approximately 2 to 3 inches. 

An experienced log home builder will take this settling into consideration when choosing the diameter of the logs to ensure impermeability. They’ll use techniques such as over scribing and shouldering. Adjustable jacks will also be needed for columns and other key locations depending on the design of the house. The installation of doors, windows, and interior divisions should be planned accordingly.  

However, there’s no need to wait until the settling is complete before doing any interior finishing work. 

Apart from the jacks that will need to be adjusted twice a year during the first five years, and if the house is designed in accordance with the rules of the art, all other components will follow the movement of the logs. Such movement will ensure the aesthetics and impermeability of the structure.

A log home that’s been designed and built in accordance with the rules of the art and that’s been properly maintained can last several decades and even centuries. The beauty of log homes is that their design has existed for hundreds of years. They’re timeless and have withstood many storms, severe weather, and hurricanes.

The design of a log home does have a significant effect on maintenance. Wood is sensitive to water and ultraviolet rays. Therefore, it’s important to treat the wood with protective products. Some time and money will need to be invested. It’s important to protect the wood! Our architectural team takes two important elements into consideration when designing a log cottage or house:

  • A cornice, with a four-foot perimeter (also called an overhang), will protect the logs from the rain and sun. It’s practical and it adds a bit of personality to your home.  
  • A high foundation, lined with stone, ensures there’s a significant distance between the ground and the wood. This is an effective way to prevent moisture and the premature aging of the logs. It’s best that round wood be approximately two feet from the ground.

DELIVERY

We deliver our cottages and houses all over Quebec and Ontario. We can also deliver anywhere in Canada, including the Maritimes. 

Our site is located in Mont-Tremblant. Transportation costs are calculated by our partners based on the distance, the complexity of the house installation, and the volume of the material being moved. We can provide you with an estimated budget, but the actual delivery cost will be charged based on the actual time required. For an average house located approximately 100 kilometres from our site, budget approximately $2,500 to $3,500.

We’re proud to deliver our log homes around the world. We have delivered and erected Harkins houses in Morocco and Palestine. However, we don’t currently deliver to the European Union due to the complexities of exportation.

It’s possible to deliver our houses almost anywhere. Our team of experts will go on site to plan for delivery. However, we’re sometimes required to ask an excavator to widen tight turns or entrances. In complicated cases, we may ask that your excavator team be present to help with the delivery. 

The time frame varies from one season to the next. We have a fully equipped building site and a covered workshop that allows our teams to work sheltered from bad weather for over 10 months in the year. This helps us build even more log homes and cottages. In general, it takes between 12 and 18 months from the design to the delivery of our pieces. Contact us to know our current turnaround time. 

MANAGEMENT

Harkins doesn’t act as a general contractor for your projects. Contact us to discuss some potential options for managing your project (self-build or with a general contractor). We can help answer all your questions.

We don’t do turnkey projects. However, we have a network of partners and collaborators that allow us to help you all throughout your project. Contact us to discuss some of the options available to you.

Our team will be happy to work with your contractor. We’ll work as a team with the professionals of your choice.

FAQ

ENTERPRISE

Harkins est une entreprise spécialisée dans la construction de maison en bois haut de gamme. Voici un aperçu de nos services : 

Oui, vous pouvez rencontrer notre équipe en personne ou virtuellement afin de confirmer vos besoins, votre budget et découvrir nos réalisations. Comme nous devons gérer beaucoup de demandes, vous devez absolument prendre rendez-vous avec nous pour une consultation. Voici différentes façons de nous contacter 

  • En ligne, en remplissant le formulaire de demande d’information et le court questionnaire concernant de votre projet de maison de bois
  • Par téléphone en nous contactant au 819-688-3571. Veuillez toutefois prendre connaissance du questionnaire suivant avant de nous appeler.
  • Par courriel, en nous écrivant à info@harkins.ca. Veuillez inclure des renseignements sur votre projet comme les plans, votre budget, votre échéancier, l’emplacement du terrain, etc.

En prenant rendez-vous avec un membre de notre équipe, vous pourrez voir les coquilles en construction sur notre chantier. Nous n’avons pas de maison modèle, mais nous avons sur place un bâtiment en bois rond et un en charpenterie traditionnelle, ce qui vous donnera une idée des produits.

Vous pouvez également consulter nos réalisations en ligne :

  • Maison de bois rond
  • Maison en charpenterie traditionnelle
  • Résidence avec charpente en bois massif hybride
  • Services d’architecture

La réponse à cette question varie selon le type de maison que vous choisissez : 

  • Maison en bois rond : Nous fabriquons la structure de bois rond directement sur notre chantier situé au 1460 route 117 à Mont-Blanc dans les Laurentides. Dès que la structure est complétée, elle est numérotée et démontée pour ensuite être transportée et assemblée sur la fondation du terrain sélectionné par nos clients.
  • Maison en timber frame (charpenterie traditionnelle) : Nous préparons d’abord l’ossature de bois massif dans notre atelier. Si la livraison est incluse au contrat, nous livrerons ensuite l’ossature et les poutres sur le lieu de construction de votre résidence secondaire ou de votre chalet. Il en va de même pour les charpentes en bois massif hybride. 
  • Nos services d’architecture en maison de bois rond et en charpenterie traditionnelle sont offerts par notre propre équipe, dans nos bureaux. Cela nous permet d’investir temps et énergie dans la recherche et le développement afin d’améliorer nos techniques.

Si vous êtes un charpentier possédant de l’expérience dans la fabrication de maison de billots de bois ou de structure en charpenterie traditionnelle, nous vous invitons à faire parvenir votre curriculum vitae et une brève lettre de présentation par courriel à admin@harkins.ca. Nous sommes régulièrement à la recherche de charpentiers qualifiés (CCQ), de charpentier de bois rond et de charpente traditionnelle ainsi que des ouvriers de métier sans cartes de compétence pour effectuer des tâches connexes comme le rabotage, le sablage, la teinture, la gestion de cour et plus encore.

PLANIFICATION — BOIS ROND

Nous ne possédons pas de catalogue de plans de maison de bois rond en ligne. Vous pouvez toutefois nous contacter et nous pourrons vous faire parvenir notre album de plans qui pourront vous servir d’inspiration. Puisque nous construisons principalement des résidences en bois haut de gamme, nos clients cherchent à concevoir une maison unique en fonction de leur vision, de leur terrain, de leurs besoins et de leur mode de vie.  

Puisque chaque plan est adapté au terrain et aux besoins uniques de nos clients, il n’est pas possible d’acheter un plan déjà conçu pour ensuite chercher un entrepreneur spécialisé en construction de bois rond. Toutefois, en travaillant avec notre équipe, il peut être possible de partir d’un plan existant pour ensuite l’adapter pour vous.  

N’oubliez pas que la conception des plans représente la première étape importante du projet que vous allez réaliser. Nous vous conseillons donc d’investir le temps et le budget nécessaires pour cette étape fondamentale qui garantira le succès de votre construction en bois rond.

Tout dépend de vos ambitions ! Nous suggérons toutefois à nos clients de prévoir environ 1 à 2 % du budget global ou entre 2 $ et 5 $ du pied carré. Ce budget sera ajusté selon la complexité du projet.

Il est difficile de répondre à cette question puisque chaque projet est unique. Cependant, le budget variera en fonction de vos besoins. Pour la structure de bois rond, il faut prévoir de 100 $ à 150 $ du pied carré. Si vous prévoyez réaliser un projet clé en main (en autoconstruction ou avec un entrepreneur général), nous vous suggérons de prévoir entre 300 $ et 500 $ du pied carré.

Voici quelques-uns des facteurs qui vont influencer le prix : 

  • La superficie totale de la maison
  • Les détails de la structure 
  • Le mode de gestion du projet (autoconstruction, entrepreneur, partenariat)
  • Le site de livraison
  • Les choix de matériaux propres aux clients
  • Les types de finitions intérieures et extérieurs
  • Le prix du bois
  • Et plus encore

Notre équipe d’artisans spécialisés réalise habituellement des maisons dont l’empreinte minimale est de plus ou moins 25 pieds par 25 pieds. 

Harkins est reconnu pour livrer des résidences secondaires de bois haut de gamme, dont la qualité excède les standards de l’industrie.

Nous ne réalisons pas de projets de mini maisons de bois rond puisque nous préférons concentrer notre énergie et nos ressources sur ce qui nous distingue depuis toujours. 

Harkins prendra toujours en charge l’installation de la structure de bois rond pour une maison en bois rond ou un chalet de bois rond afin de garantir la qualité du produit du début à la fin. Si vous souhaitez réaliser vous-même la construction de la fondation, de la toiture et de la finition, il est possible de faire l’achat de la structure de bois rond que nous allons installer sur votre fondation. Cette façon de faire vous permettra de poursuivre vous-même le projet ou de faire appel à un entrepreneur général de votre choix. 

Vous pouvez consulter un blogue détaillé qui vous explique en détail les étapes de construction. Voici les points majeurs : 

  • Obtention de tous les permis nécessaires auprès de la municipalité
  • Préparation de la fondation et du plancher 
  • Soumission du plan d’électricité deux semaines avant la livraison pour l’emplacement des boîtes électriques
  • Préparation du terrain et du chemin pour accueillir une grue mobile de 25 tonnes (minimum) et d’un camion-remorque de 46 pieds. 

PLANIFICATION – CHARPENTE BOIS MASSIF

Nous n’avons pas de catalogue de plans puisque chaque plan est unique et est conçu en fonction des besoins, des goûts et du terrain. Vous pouvez toutefois consulter nos réalisations en ligne ou nous demander de vous acheminer un catalogue de réalisations.

Non, chaque plan est unique et personnalisé en fonction du projet. Il y a tellement d’éléments à considérer que nous finissons toujours par l’adapter en fonction d’une panoplie de détails comme l’orientation du soleil, les préférences, le terrain, la vue et plus encore.

Les prix peuvent varier énormément. Il faut prévoir au minimum 350 $ du pied carré, mais il y a plusieurs facteurs qui entrent en ligne de compte et qui peuvent faire grimper le prix. Cette estimation est valide pour 2022, mais elle peut varier d’une année à l’autre.

Une charpente de timber frame traditionnel complet inclura la structure de poutres et poteaux pour tous les murs extérieurs ainsi que la structure de toit complète en charpente de bois massif. Une telle charpente prendra tous les efforts structuraux.

De son côté la charpente de bois massif hybride permettra d’intégrer des éléments de bois massif à des endroits spécifiques dans la maison. Dans ce cas-ci, le bois massif pourra jouer un rôle structural ou tout simplement décoratif. Habituellement, on intègrera le bois massif dans les espaces de vies communs comme le salon ou la salle à manger. Par exemple, un toit cathédral au salon avec fermes de timber frame permettront d’ajouter de la prestance à la pièce. Le terme « hybride » est utilisé puisque les éléments structuraux seront faits de bois massif et d’une structure conventionnelle telle que du colombage en 2’’x6’’.

Il y a généralement cinq étapes à suivre pour construire une maison avec charpente de bois massif. Les voici en rafales :

  1. Le plan préliminaire pour discuter des idées
  2. L’estimation des coûts pour vous donner un aperçu de ce que votre projet pourrait coûter
  3. Un plan détaillé pour lancer le projet
  4. Une soumission finale et un contrat à signer
  5. Le paiement réparti en quelques versements

Non. Nous sommes spécialisés dans la charpente de bois. Nous allons donc bâtir l’ossature pour ensuite fermer la coquille et effectuer la finition extérieure. Pour le reste, nous pouvons vous recommander des professionnels pour une autoconstruction ou un entrepreneur général pour un projet clé en main.

Oui, au fil des années, nous avons construit de nombreuses charpentes. Vous pouvez en consulter quelques-unes dans notre section Réalisations afin de vous laisser inspirer par différentes constructions.

Oui, nous pouvons fabriquer des gazebos sur mesure. Vous pouvez nous contacter et nous pourrons ensemble définir un plan pour votre gazebo de rêve.

Nous utilisons principalement du pin blanc qui pousse ici même dans notre belle région des Laurentides, là où nous sommes situés. Autres essences utilisées : Sapin Douglas, Cèdre rouge et Cyprès d’Alaska.  

Oui, nous pouvons fabriquer de telle structure. Chaque projet sera toutefois analysé de manière indépendante et notre équipe pourra vous faire savoir si nous sommes en mesure de réaliser un tel projet puisque de nombreux facteurs peuvent entrer en ligne de compte.

Bien sûr ! Sachez toutefois que l’ajout d’éléments de bois massif est un art et qu’une analyse rigoureuse du projet doit être effectuée avant de se lancer. Nos experts pourront vous orienter afin de donner du cachet à votre résidence.

Nous effectuons habituellement une première couche de teinture en atelier. Nous conseillons d’appliquer la deuxième couche sur place pour assurer la qualité. Toutefois, le client (ou son peintre) sera responsable d’effectuer la deuxième couche une fois la structure installée sur la fondation.  

Règle générale, la plupart des gens optent pour une finition planée sablée ou « brute resaw » puisqu’elle s’adapte à tous les types de structure. Nous pouvons également faire une finition à la gouge ou brossée.

TECHNIQUES BOIS ROND

Nous utilisons principalement du pin blanc pour nos maisons de bois rond. Le plus important pour nous, c’est d’utiliser du pin blanc provenant de forêts développées et coupées de façon écoresponsable, et que la matière provienne d’un rayon ne dépassant pas 200 kilomètres de notre usine. 

La technique scandinave se différencie par le travail de minutie des artisans du bois. Le bois est écorcé et raboté à la main, puis ajusté grâce à un compas à double niveau. Le traçage et le taillage des billots sont réalisés avec soin et précision. Les pièces peuvent ainsi s’imbriquer parfaitement les unes dans les autres. Cela assure alors un jointage très étanche et une excellente isolation. Le savoir-faire de notre équipe ainsi que les techniques utilisées font toute la différence.

Notre équipe excelle en maison de bois rond, cela ne fait aucun doute. Nous avons aussi d’autres talents puisque nous sommes spécialisés dans la conception et la réalisation de maison de type timber frame

La scandinave traditionnelle sera fabriquée avec des croisements de billots à la jonction des coins.

De son côté, la scandinave à poteaux sera composée de sections de billots avec des poteaux aux coins et à chaque ouverture de porte et de fenêtre. Cette technique empêchera toute possibilité d’affaissement de la structure.

Nos maisons satisfont aux normes énergétiques du code du bâtiment. Le calcul est établi selon l’enveloppe totale de la maison.  

Nous utilisons des billots d’une moyenne de 15 pouces de diamètre et un double P-Gasket est installé entre les billots lors du remontage de la structure. De plus, nous installons des fenêtres à haut rendement énergétique et la toiture est isolée à R-50 avec recouvrement des ponts thermiques.  

Des tests d’étanchéité à l’air ont été effectués par une firme externe et ont démontré que nos constructions en bois rond performent selon les normes Novoclimat en matière d’étanchéité à l’air.



ENTRETIEN BOIS ROND

La teinture de votre maison devra être effectuée selon les recommandations du fabricant. En général, il faut le faire tous les cinq ans, mais il est important de suivre les recommandations en fonction du produit utilisé.

Il faut opter pour une teinture avec une protection antifongique et s’assurer de bien lire les instructions avant de procéder à l’application du produit en question.

Il n’y a aucun entretien minimal annuel requis. Nous vous recommandons toutefois d’enlever le pollen et la poussière avec un nettoyage à l’eau sans pression

Oui, il s’agit d’une réaction normale du bois. Il ne faut toutefois pas s’en inquiéter puisque ces craquements n’affectent pas l’intégrité du bois, ni son isolation et son efficacité énergétique. 

Ce qu’on appelle communément « l’affaissement du bois rond » fait référence à cette caractéristique naturelle du bois que vous devriez prévoir avec une maison de bois rond scandinave. Lorsque le bois sèche, son diamètre se réduit, ce qui fait en sorte que la hauteur totale d’un mur standard de bois rond de 9 pieds et six pouces diminuera d’environ deux à trois pouces. 

Un constructeur de maisons en bois rond d’expérience prévoira cet affaissement dans la taille des billots afin d’assurer l’étanchéité. Il utilisera des techniques comme le « over scribed » et les épaulements. Il faudra aussi prévoir des vérins ajustables aux colonnes et à d’autres endroits stratégiques selon le concept de la maison. L’installation des portes et fenêtres, et des divisions intérieures, devra être prévue en conséquence.  

Il n’est toutefois pas nécessaire d’attendre que l’affaissement soit terminé pour effectuer les travaux de finition intérieure. 

Outre les vérins, qui nécessiteront un ajustement environ deux fois par année durant les cinq premières années, toutes les autres composantes suivront le mouvement du billot si la maison est conçue selon les règles de l’art. Ce mouvement garantira l’esthétisme et l’étanchéité de l’enveloppe.

Une maison de bois rond conçue et fabriquée selon les règles de l’art et entretenue avec soin saura traverser des décennies, voir même des siècles. C’est la beauté des maisons en bois rond, dont le design existe depuis des centaines d’années. Elles sont intemporelles et elles ont même résisté à de nombreuses tempêtes, intempéries et ouragans.

La conception d’une maison en bois rond a un impact important sur son entretien. Le bois est un élément sensible à l’eau et aux rayons ultraviolets. Il faut donc traiter les billots de bois avec des produits protecteurs. Cela demande un investissement de temps et d’argent. Nous préférons protéger le bois ! Voici deux éléments clés pris en considération par notre équipe d’architecture lorsqu’elle travaille sur la conception d’un chalet de bois rond ou d’une maison en bois rond :

  • Une corniche de quatre pieds de pourtour (aussi appelé débord de toit) protège les billots de la pluie et du soleil. C’est pratique et ça ajoute de la personnalité à votre maison.  
  • Une fondation haute, garnie de pierre, assure une distance importante entre le sol et le bois. Il s’agit d’un moyen efficace de prévenir l’humidité et le vieillissement prématuré des billots. Le bois rond devrait idéalement être à environ deux pieds du sol.

LIVRAISON

Nous livrons nos chalets et maisons d’un bout à l’autre du Québec, ainsi qu’en Ontario. Nous pouvons également livrer partout au Canada, incluant les Maritimes.  

Notre chantier est situé à Mont-Tremblant. Nos frais de transport sont donc calculés par nos partenaires en fonction de la distance, de la complexité du lieu d’installation de la maison et du volume de matériaux à déplacer. Nous pourrions vous donner une idée budgétaire, mais le prix réel de la livraison vous sera facturé selon le temps réel requis. Pour une maison moyenne, il faut prévoir entre 2 500 $ et 3 500 $ pour un terrain situé à environ 100 kilomètres de notre chantier.

Nous sommes fiers de livrer nos maisons en bois à travers le monde. Nous avons livré et installé des maisons Harkins au Maroc et en Palestine. Cependant nous n’offrons pas de livraison dans l’Union européenne due aux complexités d’exportation.

Il est possible de livrer nos maisons à peu près partout. Notre équipe d’experts prendra le temps d’aller sur les lieux pour planifier la livraison. Toutefois, nous sommes parfois forcés de demander à un excavateur d’agrandir des virages trop serrés ou d’élargir l’entrée. Dans des cas plus complexes, nous pourrions demander à votre excavateur d’être présent avec une pelle mécanique pour aider à la livraison.  

Nos délais varient d’une saison à l’autre. Nous avons un chantier aménagé et un atelier couvert qui permet à nos équipes de travailler plus de 10 mois par année à l’abri des intempéries. Cela nous permet de produire plus de maisons et de chalets de bois. Il faut généralement compter de 12 et 18 mois entre la conception et la livraison de nos créations. Veuillez nous contacter pour connaître nos délais actuels.  

GESTION

Harkins n’agit pas comme entrepreneur général pour vos projets. Contactez-nous afin de discuter des options possibles pour la gestion de votre projet (en autoconstruction ou avec un entrepreneur général partenaire). Nous allons pouvoir répondre à toutes vos interrogations

Nous ne réalisons pas de projets clé en main. Toutefois, notre réseau de partenaires et de collaborateurs nous permet de vous aider tout au long de votre projet. Contactez-nous sans tarder pour discuter des options qui s’offrent à vous.

Notre équipe se fera un plaisir de travailler avec votre entrepreneur. Nous travaillerons en équipe avec les professionnels de votre choix.

Nous avons l’habitude de travailler avec des gens qui réalisent leur projet en autoconstruction. Contactez-nous afin d’en apprendre davantage sur nos services.